Society Of Camera Operators Announce 2021 Award Nominees

Andrew Mitchell behind the camera on an episode of Netflix's "Ratched" a nominee for 2021 Society of Camera Operators awards. / Photo courtesy of Society of Camera Operators.

The 2021 Camera Operator of the Year Awards nominees have been named, the Society of Camera Operators announced.

The SOC’s annual awards for Hollywood’s otherwise unsung people actually holding the camera will be taking place live via a virtual show Sunday, April 11 and include two horror thrillers among the nominees.

Split into two categories — film and TV — John “Buzz” Moyer is a nominee for his work on the dark satirical horror film The Hunt, and Andrew Mitchell for Netflix’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest prequel Ratched.

The nominees will be recognized for their outstanding contributions towards masterful storytelling and advancing the creative art of the camera operator. Known for hosting the in-person Lifetime Achievement Awards and and Creative Vision Celebration, the internationally recognized SOC has celebrated the production community for 35 years.

Nominees in the individual categories of Film and Television are as follows.

Camera Operator of the Year — Film Nominees:
Don Devine & George Billinger — Greyhound
Jason Ellson — Mulan
Geoffrey Haley — Cherry
John “Buzz” Moyer — The Hunt
Sasha Proctor — The Outpost

Camera Operator of the Year — Television Nominees:
Don Devine — Perry Mason
Simon Jayes — The Mandalorian
Jim McConkey — The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Andrew Mitchell — Ratched
Henry Tirl — Wandavision

This year’s award show and virtual gala celebration will take place on Sunday, April 11th 5:00 – 6:30 pm PST via an online platform. To find more information about the SOC’s Lifetime Achievement Awards and Creative Vision Celebration visit SOC.Org.